the Wheelagram



VOL. V NO.11 MAY 22, 1981

WFI SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS ANNOUNCED... Congratulations to Mike Bonne and Mark Waumans, the 1981 recipients of the two university scholarships annually awarded by our division and to Janice Dobrzykowski, this year's recipient of the Julianna Club Scholarship.



(I to r) Mark Waumans and Mike Bonne receive congratulations from WFI Scholarship Chairman Tom Burmeister. (standing) Ralph Sanford, Del Tenney, committee members. (Other committee members are: Dale Ellis, Harold Schulte, and Jack Trant.)

ANNIVERSARIES...



John Woodruff Carpenter-South Shipping 40 Years (May 21)



Clarence Knisley Heat Treat Control Operator Foundry 35 Years (May 13)

Not on camera but marking 40 years of company service May 19 was Industrial Engineering's Max Whittaker. Other May service dates include 15 years for: Al Sartor, Western Regional Manager (May 1); Roger Deloof, Assembler AA-Assembly (May 2); Everett Williams, Jr., Furnace Operator-Plant 2 (May 9); Donald Ritter, Centerless Grinder-Machine Shop (May 9). Ten years for Charlie Whitfield, Guard (May 20).

Mike, son of Maintenance's **Maurie Bonne**, is the recipient of the Verne E. Minich "Founders Scholarship" — named after Wheelabrator's founder and first president — and plans to concentrate on a pre-med course at Purdue University. In the top ten per cent of his graduating class at Penn High School, Mike's activities have included: Intermural Basketball, Skiing, French Club, and serving as a Little League Baseball Club Coach.

Ranked seventh in a class of 325 at Mishawaka High School, Mark will enter the College of Science at the University of Notre Dame as the recipient of the Otto A. Pfaff Scholarship, named after our company's second president. A member of the National Honor Society, Mark played basketball his sophomore and junior years and was a member of the French Club. Mark is the son of Machine Shop's **Don Waumans**.



Janice, daughter of Balcrank's **Ed Dobrzykowski**, is in the top ten per cent of her graduating class at St. Joseph High School, where her activities included membership in the National Honor Society, Intermural Tennis Team, French Club, and Dramatics. Active in Junior Achievement, last year she was voted "Treasurer of the Year." Janice plans to pursue a degree in Accounting in the School of Business at Purdue University.

ON THE CALENDAR . . .

May 25 Memorial Day. Plant closed.

May 26 Arthritis Public Forum — "Beyond

Pain—The Emotional Side of Arthritis," 7:30 p.m., Goodman Auditorium, Bethel College. Public invited — no charge.

REDUCED RATES . . . See your area AA Rep for reduced rate tickets to: Cedar Point — \$9.25 (regularly \$10.95 each) and Great America — \$9.50 (regularly \$13.20).



Wrapping up the WFI bowling season, we have on camera:

Bowling Sweepstakes Winners...



Taking first place honors in the team event category with a total of 3089 pins (I to r) Glenn Martin, Hooter Mayes, Ron Albright, Mike Hillebrand, Jack Coleman.



Pat Woodruff Singles Event Champ



Will Young, Don Ansbaugh Doubles Event Champs



Roger Smith All Events (Handicap) Champ



Don LaPlace All Events (Scratch) Champ



JoJo Cukrowicz

For the record ... Sweepstakes Chairman JoJo Cukrowicz extends sincere thanks to helpers Denny Wilson, John Mumby, Larry Baker, Clem Sniadecki, Margaret Hunter, and Billie O'Connell.

See your next issue of Wheelagram for an update on WFI's Trap League.

WFI Night Owl League 1980-1981 Champions . . .



(I to r) Tom Pratt, Jerry Pratt, Robert Adair, Frank Farrell.

Taking first place in the High Team Game category — the Steelers (Carl Wallace, Clem Sniadecki, Donald Ice, Mike O'Connell, John Strauser). Taking High Team 3-Games honors for the season were members of Damifino (Maurice Bonne, Ray Popielski, Ralph Hensel, Ezra Campbell, Hooter Mayes). John Strauser is champ in the Individual High 3-Games category; Jerry Pratt, Individual High Game Champ.

Members of the 200 Club include: Jerry Pratt (256), Bruce McConahay (255), John Strauser (254), Pat Woodruff (250), Hooter Mayes (247), Joe Jenczewski (246), Mike O'Connell (243), George DeGeeter (242), Dan Gallaway (235), Fred Johnson (234), Bill Scutchfield (234), Joe Kaniewski (233), Ron Melser (233), Loren Maier (231), Louie Pola (230), Marty Watson (227), Don Ice (227), Wayne Eggleston (224), Robert Adair (223), Ez Campbell (223), Morrie Bonne (222), Dennis Kobb (221), Art Buck (221), Ralph Hensel (218), John Fisher (217), Henry Franks (216), Dave Barnes (216), Frank Farrell (214), Tom Morrison (213), John LaPlace (213), Elmo Perry (213), Nick Carter (213), Harry Gibbens (212), Ray Popielski (212), Carl Wallace (212), Tom Pratt (211), Jim Turza (211), Jim Brock (209), Mark DeGeyter (209), Jim Braden (209), Leroy Bowers (208), Frank Fanin (207), Gene Kempner (204), Tim Harvey (203), Ralph Breden (202), Clem Sniadecki (202).

WFI Bowlers Win "Big 3 Shoot-Out" ... WFI bowlers brought home the traveling trophy from this year's annual invitational tournament between Wheelabrator, Uniroyal, and Dodge. The tournament's high handicap series was won by our Don Waumans (748), as well as High 3-Game Scratch series (745). Other WFI high scorers include: Ed Wales (700), Matt Rutkowski (679), Joe Kring (669), Chet Herman (644), Neal Soule (644), Hank Van-Waeyenberge (651), Frank Wolford (642). Steel Shop's Ron Albright turned in a blazing 534 with handicap.